Published On: Wed, May 10th, 2023

Terms end for Dutch Members Progress Committee

THE HAGUE/PHILIPSBURG -- Both chairman of the Progress Committee Sint Maarten, Nico Schoof, and member for the Netherlands, Michel Marijnen (former chairman of the Progress Committee Curacao), retire after 12 years serving on the Progress Committees.
Today, Wednesday, May 10, 2023, Dutch State Secretary, Alexandra van Huffelen, bid farewell to both gentlemen in The Hague.
The Voortgangscommissie Sint Maarten, also known as the Progress Committee St. Maarten, is an independent committee established to monitor and assess the progress of the country of St. Maarten in implementing the reforms agreed upon with the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The work of the committee commenced following the restructuring of the political status of St. Maarten on 10-10-10, when it became a constituent country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

The committee's primary purpose is to oversee and evaluate the implementation of the reforms in various areas, including governance, finances, rule of law, and integrity, among others. In addition, the reforms aim to strengthen the government and socio-economic development of St. Maarten.

The Voortgangscommissie Sint Maarten consists of independent experts appointed by the governments of the Netherlands and St. Maarten. The committee members bring diverse backgrounds and expertise relevant to the areas of reform overseen.

The committee periodically publishes reports on the progress of the reform process in St. Maarten. These reports assess the achievements, challenges, and areas requiring further attention. The committee also provides recommendations to the government of St. Maarten and the Kingdom of the Netherlands to support and facilitate the reform efforts.

The Voortgangscommissie Sint Maarten works closely with the government of St. Maarten, relevant stakeholders, and the Kingdom government. It fosters dialogue, exchange of information, and cooperation to ensure effective implementation of the reforms. The Kingdom government is responsible for assisting St. Maarten in achieving its reform goals, and the Voortgangscommissie monitors this process.



Some articles or portions of articles are restricted exclusively for our registered members and paying subscribers. Please login here to read the rest of this article. If you do not already have a paid subscription, you will need to register here and pay for a subscription first in order to gain access to our website to read articles or contents that are restricted to paid subscribers. You need to buy at least a Day subscription for 75ct to gain access. Or log in first if you are already a registered paying subscriber to this website. Click here to register and support our work with a paid subscription.